Count It! Lock It! Drop It!
Staggering local data shows alarming rates of prescription drug usage among the youth. The Coffee County Anti-Drug Coalition, serving Coffee County, TN, have put into action a comprehensive plan to tackle the problem by putting information out there to parents of youth and providing them with the information and materials they need.
Don't forget to ask about your own free lock boxes and counting brochure.
EMPOWER Mentoring Program
Did you know that 1 hour/week spent with a youth can:
- Reduce Drug and Alcohol Use
- Decrease School Dropouts
- Increase Social and Life Skills
Would you consider investing in the life of 1 Middle School Student in Coffee County? In this program mentors will:
- Offer academic assistance by helping with homework
- Help youth learn social and life skills to be more well-rounded successful students
The Program launched in Spring 2014! Check out the requirements for Mentors. Click here for a mentor application. Save it, fill it out and email it to: firstname.lastname@example.org. If you would prefer you may print it out and mail it to: 116 W. Fort Street, Manchester, TN 37355. For any additional questions, email Robert at email@example.com.
This program is led by Robert Ray, Youth Coordinator. There are some amazing individuals in the community who serve on the Advisory Council to ensure the program runs smoothly and effectively.
Advisory Council: named from left to right
Back Row: Rosemary Crabtree, B. Ken Stewart, Billy Levengood, Jerry Tacket.
Front Row: Susie Young, Anna-Catherine Hoover, Leslie Brasfield, Bertha Smith.
Not Pictured: Jesslyn Johnson, Joyce Prusak, and Michelle Vaughn
Responsible Beverage Server Training
"This program has been certified b the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission as currently satisfying the requirement of the Alcohol Server Responsibility and Training Act of 1995."
Who Needs a Permit?
- The State of Tennessee requires all servers and bartenders who serve alcohol by the drink to attend an approved responsible alcohol awareness program to receive a State issued Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) permit.
How Do I Get a Permit?
- Complete a Responsible Beverage Server (RBS) Course. CCADC is currently offering the RBS course at a reduced rate using TABC approved TIPS (Training for Intervention ProcedureS) curriculum. The course is a minimum of 5 hours, per TABC. Call today to register for an upcoming course.
- Simply attending a RBS course does not allow you to legally serve alcohol. You MUST obtain a copy of your TABC Server Permit.
- To obtain a TABC permit you will need to complete the TABC Server Permit form. This form will need to be notarized.
- You will need to get a cashiers check or a money order in the amount of $20.00 made out to TABC.
- The form and check may be mailed or hand delivered to TABC (226 Capitol Blvd. Ste 300, Nashville, TN 37243-0755. Phone: 615.741.1602)
- TABC recommends a 5 day turn around time once you have submitted your Server Permit application.
- Per TABC "NOTICE: Effective January 1, 2011, TABC will no longer accept cash for server permit cards Also, we do not accept credit card payments. Accepted payments for permit cards will be money orders or cashiers checks only"
TABC Server Permit Policies (www.tn.gov/abc)
New hires have a sixty one (61) day grace period from the original date of hire to attend a TABC certified alcohol awareness training class and obtain a server permit. All servers are required to have a valid server permit (5 years) to serve alcoholic beverages in the state of Tennessee. You must be at least eighteen (18) years old to serve alcohol. In order to be eligible to obtain a 5-year permit, you must attend a TABC approved alcohol awareness course within twelve (12) months. If you misplace your server permit you can get a replacement card by filling out an application and paying a ten dollar ($10) fee. The replacement card will have the same expiration date as your first card.
- You will NOT be eligible for a server permit card if you:
- Have been convicted of a felony within the previous four (4) years; or
- Have been convicted of a misdemeanor or a felony relating to the sale of alcoholic beverages, beer, schedule 1 or 2 controlled substances, any sex-related crime, or embezzlement within the previous eight (8) years; or
- Have had your server permit revoked within the previous five (5) years; or
- Have had ownership interest in the previous eight (8) years in an establishment which had its license revoked.
- Server permits are valid for five (5) years. You MUST have your original permit or a copy of your permit available for inspection anytime you are employed in the service of alcohol.
- Applicants for renewal must meet all the above requirements.
Items to Note
- On-Premise RBS class is $70.00 per person. This fee includes the class, course materials and Server Permit Application fee.
- When nearing the expiration of your server permit plan accordingly. It takes CCADC approximately three (3) weeks to receive scored tests back and send server permit applications to TABC. Also, TABC recommends five (5) business days for application processing.
- CCADC trainers, Kristina Clark and Christina Merino, can come to your establishment to conduct an on-premise training.
The State of Tennessee does not currently require off-premise alcohol sales persons to have a server permit. An establishment can require employees to attend an off-premise responsible alcohol awareness course.
Responsible Beverage Server (RBS) training has many benefits for business that sell alcohol that will be consumed off-premise. The course teaches store employees how to recognize when a customer is intoxicated or underage. In addition to preventing the illegal sale of alcohol, store employees learn how to handle intoxicated customers and keep them from harming themselves and others. The intervention techniques reflect the short period of time a clerk has to interact with a customer.
TIPS training demonstrates a commitment to work to prevent alcohol-related problems and a desire to be a part of the solution. Local authorities tend to look favorably on businesses that incorporate RBS training.
Items to Note
- The cost of the course is $25.00 per person. This fee includes class and course materials.
- CCADC trainers, Kristina Clark and Christina Merino, can conduct trainings at your establishment.
Underage Drinking Initiatives
Tennessee Social Host Law
"Social Hosting is the common term used when an owner, occupant, or other adult knowingly allows or fails to stop a minor from drinking or possessing alcoholic beverages or beer." (Source: CADCAT Social Host Brochure)
Sobriety Checkpoint/Saturation Patrol Support
CCADC partners with local law enforcement to support sobriety checkpoints and/or saturation patrols on a monthly basis.
An excerpt from The Community Guide: "Publicized sobriety checkpoint programs are a form of high visibility enforcement where law enforcement officers systematically stop drivers to assess their degree of alcohol impairment. Media efforts to publicize the enforcement activity are an integral part of these programs. The program goal is to reduce alcohol-impaired driving by increasing the public's perceived risk of arrest while also arresting alcohol-impaired drivers identified at checkpoints."(www.http://www.thecommunityguide.org/mvoi/AID/sobrietyckpts.html)
Social Norms Campaigns